Experiments

I’m changing the direction of this blog. Over the past few weeks, I told myself I’d pick up blogging as a tool to help me think more clearly, communicate more effectively, and also just write better. However, after committing to my goal of 1 new post/week, I found myself consistently writing about nothing. I was writing a new post every week, I never published any because they were terrible. The posts felt disorganized, aimless, and overall, they were worthless.

In an attempt to fix this, I’m fusing this blog with my Evernote account. Currently I use Evernote to jot down observations about life and problems/inefficiencies/opportunities I see around me. In the past, I review these notes once a week and decide whether there’s anything worth taking further action on. More often than not, the ideas either suck or aren’t worth pursuing, but once in a while I find an idea that seems interesting.

Now since I’m already fairly deep into a startup and a side project, I find it frustrating that I have some seemingly good ideas sitting around underutilized. To kill two birds with one stone, I’m going to pick 1 idea every week from this list and do some quick research/experiments/tests to further validate or disprove the theory behind the idea. I’m not expecting to do any heavy duty research, but I intend to get to pretty solid coffee house level of knowledge on the subject and either throw the idea away after or provide enough validation to warrant some more exploration if so desired.

I’m hoping this will give me an opportunity to expand my perspective of the world, learn new things, and allow me to consistently write things that interest me and hopefully other people as well. Would love to see some comments/thoughts/feedback on the posts, or feel free to go over to my About page and shoot me an email.

One thought on “Experiments

  1. Pingback: Writing | Chris E. Yin

Leave a Reply

